Awesome Blog by a Breastfeeding Transman

This man is an inspiration to me! Read on to hear the first part of his amazing story! (And then click the link to read more 🙂 )

“Near the end of my pregnancy, I went to my first breastfeeding support meeting, facilitated by La Leche League. I was excited at the opportunity to learn, and terribly nervous in a room full of strangers – I was a guy at a women-only peer-to-peer help group. La Leche League is an international nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting and educating women who want to breastfeed. When it came to be my turn to speak, I gave my carefully prepared spiel: “My name is Trevor and I am able to be pregnant because I am transgender. This means that I was born female but transitioned to male by taking hormones and having chest surgery. When my partner and I decided to start a family, we got advice from my doctors and I stopped taking my testosterone. My baby is due in April. Because my surgery removed most of my breast tissue, I don’t know how much I’ll be able to breastfeed, but I really want to try.”

“With my face bright red and my palms sweating, I looked up to see many of the women in the room nodding their heads and smiling at me….”

Click the link below to read more…

http://www.milkjunkies.net/p/my-story.html

Leave a Reply

